Oh, am I not grieving correctly for you?

Posted on April 9, 2017. Filed under: grief, Suicide | Tags: , |

Here’s another thing I’ve gotten from various parties: Let it out, honey! It’s natural to cry, come on! It’s OK! Just let it out!

I let it out plenty, just not in front of you, thanks. I’m angry, sad, resentful, regretful, all sorts of things. I talk to my dead husband, tell him to stay away because I’m so pissed off, or allow him to console me when I’m so terribly sad. But I do this in private, because I happen to be a private person.

I even get it from my therapist – on the one hand she says, “I’m not telling you you’re grieving wrong, there’s no right way,” and on the other hand she drops little hints about how “controlled” I am.

Frankly, I find it hard to be sad and grieving on a beautiful Spring day when the sun is out and my child is delighted at butterflies and fragrant flowers. I find it hard to be angry and resentful when people I love are surrounding me and we are enjoying time together.

I personally grieve at night, when I’m alone or with my daughter and feel the loss so much more acutely. I grieve when my daughter tells me what she would like to tell Dada if she could. (“I would tell him I love reading!”)

I don’t like feeling obligated to inform others of my grief journey. I get that people care about me, but they don’t seem to hear me when I tell them what I tell them, or maybe it’s not enough for them? I can’t tell. But people seem to want me to be a certain way, a way that I’m not being.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Family Focus on WordPress.com
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 32 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

