Retail therapy, and other aspects of rebellion against the one who left

Posted on March 26, 2017. Filed under: Family | Tags: , , , |

My husband was the only one I could trust with finances. We made financial decisions together, but I wanted him to manage it all, since he was actually running the home. He was a house husband and stay at home dad (after many unhappy years as a general contractor). I was (still am, I suppose) the executive with the corner office in the big city who worked and traveled to bring in *money money money*.

But he wouldn’t let me spend it!

He left us with a good emergency fund and a conservative monthly budget… and I’ve been spending on me and my little girl like crazy since I learned he ended his life. The retail therapy can’t last forever. I have a little girl to take care of, college to save for, vacations and family travel to plan, groceries to buy, and bills to pay, but it feels good to feel free of his imposed restrictions for a little bit.

There are other ways I’m rebelling. I’m changing the house a little. Giving away plants, buying new bedding, changing the position of the living room furniture. A stubby, sad, pouting middle finger gesture to him.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Family Focus on WordPress.com
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 32 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

