I don’t remember laughing so hard before

Posted on December 29, 2012. Filed under: Parenting | Tags: , , |

These stories are charming and hilarious! I wonder what cockamamie things my husband and I will experience as first time parents…

Laugh and learn: New parents share their most embarrassing mistakes

My two favorites:

“I was out of the house one day, and I guess we’d run out of diapers, because when I got home, my husband had made one out of a maxi-pad, a dish towel, and the headband I use when I take off my make-up. It worked, but now I make sure that I’m never, ever out of diapers.”
— Amy

“A few weeks after my son, Weston, was born, we hit an unusually warm spell in early October, so I decided to put a fan in his window to keep him cool. When I went to check on him during his nap, I found him surrounded by a swarm of mosquitoes, and I saw that I’d forgotten to put the window screen back in when I installed the fan. So then, in my sleepless state, I sprayed him with bug repellent from head to toe, including his hands, which he immediately used to rub his eyes. Already cranky because I’d woken him up, he now started screaming because of the spray in his eyes. I was so panicked that I never even thought of just wiping him off with a damp washcloth. Instead, I put his poor little head under the running faucet. But that just made him cry harder: It was bad enough being woken up and getting bug spray in his eyes, but now his mother was drowning him in the sink. It ended up with me on the kitchen floor crying and my poor husband coming in and trying to console both me and the baby, who at this point has, amazingly, survived his first two years.”
— Liz, Illinois
Editor’s Note: Insect repellent shouldn’t be used on infants younger than 2 months.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “I don’t remember laughing so hard before”

RSS Feed for Family Focus Comments RSS Feed

HAHA!!! The worst is when you do something stupid in public! One of our worst moments was one night we put Harper down ( she had JUST started to sleep 8 hours)…She was fussy when I put her down with her bottle, but then I didn’t hear a peep from her all night. John got up with her that morning to find she had thrown up all over herself and her sheets/stuffed animals….and slept in it all night (because it was cold by this time)! 😦 I WAS SO UPSET!!! But since she didn’t cry, I just had no idea she was sick! She also rolled off our bed when she was like 3 months too…Mother of the year award goes to me! Luckily they’re resilient little things!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Follow Family Focus on WordPress.com
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 32 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

