Shall remain nameless?

Posted on November 20, 2012. Filed under: Pregnancy | Tags: , |

I wonder if most parents just know at a gut level what their kids’ names should be. Because we’re really struggling with this.

We do know the sex of the baby, but it turns out we were more confident in a name if the baby were the other sex. As of last night, we have a running list of about 10 names with various degrees of confidence and feeling toward them, and not a single one jumps out as the name for our little one.

What to do? We can keep brainstorming – we certainly have the time before the baby comes – but I didn’t think this process would be so arduous. I hate the idea of being lukewarm about a name, that’s just not what I want.

We’ve talked about waiting until the baby is born and interacting with our newborn before settling on a name. Sounds good in theory, but what if at that point, still nothing jumps out at us as the “right” name? Then, we’re really behind the eight ball.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Shall remain nameless?”

RSS Feed for Family Focus Comments RSS Feed

That’s how we are with our boy now! Once I found Harper’s name I knew it was the ONE but now I just can’t find a boy name like that! Actually THE one for me, my husband hates so that stinks!!! Are you going to announce the gender on here?

Yeah, names can be so tough… I’m not planning on announcing sex on the blog, though. Truly a secret between me and hubby! 🙂

I would love to hear when you settle on a name for your little boy – that will be such a relief!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Follow Family Focus on WordPress.com
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 32 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

