Starting to talk about birthing options

Posted on November 19, 2012. Filed under: Pregnancy | Tags: , , , , , |

Met with a friend who is a doula yesterday. I was interested in understanding her services as a doula, and what I can expect for the birthing process. Here are some new things that I learned:

  1. You can instruct hospital staff not to even offer you drugs if you don’t want it.
  2. Most of the labor can be done at home, near loved ones and with pain managed in the tub with water and breathing until you’re basically ready to push. The hospital isn’t far from us at all, so this is a big plus for me.
  3. You can opt not to have an IV put in at triage. That’s only if you might want an epidural later, and it might inhibit your mobility and ideal positioning for labor. They can always put in an IV later, it’s just more convenient for the nurses to do it early.
  4. The doula can play a large role for the partner, to instruct the partner on how to be most effective in supporting the woman in labor.

Also, we don’t have experienced family in very close proximity, so she is willing to be available after the birth to help with any trouble or guidance, including breast feeding, which is great. (I know I could also get a lactation consultant.)

It was just nice to talk to someone who does this a lot, rather than talking to others’ personal birthing experiences that may outdated in terms of options (going to C-section waaaay too quickly or easily, just because it’s more convenient or a better payment for the physician) or are frankly so personal and individual that they don’t really help me prepare. They’re definitely wonderful stories, but they don’t necessarily tell me what I can expect, or help me identify what I want.

I’m preparing for a long, tiring labor with no drugs if I can help it. It’s definitely intimidating, if not slightly terrifying. But this is what I wanted! We will see how this birth actually plays out – it may not end up being anything that I anticipate.

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Starting to talk about birthing options”

RSS Feed for Family Focus Comments RSS Feed

plus – doulas are cheaper than epidurals, and only come with positive side effects! : )

So true!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Follow Family Focus on WordPress.com
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 32 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

