This is what supportive means

Posted on October 11, 2012. Filed under: Family, Pregnancy | Tags: , , , , , |

Not every expectant lady is blessed with a supportive partner. I’m VERY lucky. My husband:

  • Does all the dishes, all the time. Without exception. Always! Wow.
  • Cleans the house and takes care of the gardening and grounds. He’s brought the front lawn and garden to life since we moved in!
  • Asks me how I am feeling EVERY DAY, sometimes multiple times a day. More than that, he listens to how I respond.
  • Makes ginger tea for me when I’m nauseous.
  • Offered to make kiwi runs to the grocery store to fulfill my greatest pregnancy craving.
  • Helps to put things into perspective for me when I get nervous about the pregnancy.
  • Makes me laugh. This is truly a blessing.
  • Comes with me to all appointments, and doesn’t sit there like a lump. He asks questions I might not think of so we both learn.
  • Holds my hand during ultrasounds.
  • Carries my bag for me, even if it looks girly.
  • Lets me nap in the evenings and on weekends without disturbing me one bit.
  • Makes guacamole for me upon request, because avocados are good for the baby, but mostly because I just want his guacamole.
  • Handles all the medical bills.
  • Holds us to our savings plan.
  • Organizes things. Lots and lots of things.
  • Has agreed to teach the kid math and geography well, two things for which I have woefully inadequate skills.
  • Hugs me, holds me, and rubs my back when I’m emotional and weepy.
  • Makes prenatal massage appointments for me.
  • Walks a little slower to match my pace these days.
  • Carries all the heavy groceries up the stairs.

There are TONS more, but I would be here all night, and I’m getting sleepy! If how he’s taken care of me is any indication of how he’d be a stay at home dad, our kid will be in the very best hands.

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Family Focus on WordPress.com
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 32 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

