Pregnancy symptoms

Posted on September 9, 2012. Filed under: Pregnancy | Tags: , , , , , |

Nausea isn’t as common as it was even a week ago. I don’t know if that means it’s on its way out, or if it was just an easy week. What has increased tremendously is my fatigue. I get winded walking for 20 minutes when I never used to. Apparently, I pumping up to 40% more blood these days, making me susceptible to fatigue, dizziness, and headaches.

Well thank goodness I haven’t had dizziness or headaches, but the fatigue and sluggishness is definitely there.  I take naps in the afternoons because I can barely keep my eyes open, but I don’t wake up refreshed. I wake up a little nauseous since I haven’t eaten during the time I was napping. I can’t win for losing.

My abdomen is also experiencing a lot of discomfort. Ligaments stretching, bloating, gas, indigestion. Sheesh! All because there’s something in there that wasn’t there before, and it’s getting bigger and bigger.

But if it all means things are still going well with the pregnancy, then I’ll get through it.

One thing that is especially hard for me is drinking enough water. I’m supposed to drink two liters a day. TWO LITERS!!  That’s a lot for me. Since I was told this last Friday, I have drunk the requisite amount Friday, Saturday, and today, only to feel like I’m constantly drinking and peeing, drinking and peeing, drinking and peeing. How am I supposed to get anything else done if I’m having to drink water and use the bathroom every minute? I went to the Safeway bathroom (not the most luxurious of public bathrooms) twice during a standard grocery visit. That’s nuts!

And tomorrow I go to work where I have conference calls and meetings back to back. I’ll constantly be excusing myself to use the bathroom. Great. Looking forward to that. But with all the extra blood I’m pumping and the amniotic fluid needing to be refreshed often, I can’t skimp on this. Sigh.

At least I don’t crave junk food. Phew! I crave kiwi, of all things. I bought some last week, and I ate them all so quickly that I was sure to get enough this week at the store in order to last me until the next grocery visit. My loving husband has offered to make kiwi runs, though, just in case! It’s like a drug. When I get that first taste of kiwi, it’s like I’ve gotten this insane fix and all my neurons are firing in abject satisfaction. Kiwi. Isn’t that funny?

Other fleshy fruits satisfy the craving as well – peaches and nectarines and grapes. Mmmm. I thought I was going to make myself sick on the number of grapes I ate in a single sitting. I just kept popping them in my mouth, one after the other, like that old I Love Lucy episode with the chocolates coming down the conveyor belt. That was me and grapes!

So, it’s not all bad, but I can’t wait until the next phase of pregnancy where I’m not likely to be subject to the discomforts, even if the hydration and silly cravings need to continue.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Family Focus on WordPress.com
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 32 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

