A mover and a shaker in there!

Posted on September 7, 2012. Filed under: Health, Pregnancy | Tags: , , |

Nothing about this pregnancy is turning out as expected.

First, I thought for sure I had a chemical pregnancy loss with some significant bleeding early on. I took a HPT expecting it to be negative, but it was positive. I went in for blood tests, expecting that the HPT was wrong, but the blood tests came back positive. And now I have a very wonderful nurse practitioner tell me at an ultrasound that I’m not 7 weeks along as I had counted from my LMP, but that the little one is measuring 11 weeks.

ELEVEN WEEKS.

What?! I’m skeptical of that. After all, people come in all different shapes and sizes. Why should embryos and fetuses be any different? Why would they all measure the same? Can’t I be at 7 weeks with a larger embryo than normal? But still, it’s a pretty big freaking difference between 7 weeks and 11 weeks. Sheesh.

Suddenly, we had all these decisions to make about genetic testing for pregnant women over 35. At 7 weeks, you have some time to think about it. At 11 weeks, you don’t. And now my husband and I have all this reading material. I mean, they gave me a folder will tons of stuff – brochures and forms and charts and leaflets.

But one thing I will never forget is seeing it move around during the ultrasound.  It was so active in there! Somersaults, dancing, flipping around. Seeing the fluttering heartbeat – wow. It has little stubs for arms and legs! It’s alive in there. Moving.

And making me sick.

At least I’m not vomiting all over creation, but I do wish the nausea would subside. I especially feel it in the late afternoons/early evenings, probably because of the food gap. The little one wants food more regularly, I guess.

I’ve maintained my weight. Not especially trying to, but it’s just happening that way. I’ve been a little overweight anyway, so it’s not like I need to gain a bunch.

So, here I am, pregnant, farther along than I’ve ever been. Hopefully it sticks, and the further testing shows a healthy one in there. After three losses, I’m a little stunned at how this pregnancy is playing out. Nothing is happening as I expected. My first lesson in parenthood, perhaps?

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “A mover and a shaker in there!”

RSS Feed for Family Focus Comments RSS Feed

Congratulations!! I am also at 11 weeks!!! I hope your doctors have nothing but good news for you your whole pregnancy! I also hope your nausea goes away because I know it sucks!! I was so sick with my first, I threw up every day until 18 weeks. This time it’s just nausea and I’ll take it over actually throwing up!!!

Congratulations to you too! Thanks for the positive thoughts.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Follow Family Focus on WordPress.com
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 32 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

